DUI Educational Programs
California drivers accused or convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher can expect a number of consequences, including court fines, possible jail time, driver's license suspensions, installation of an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol education classes. The length of the classes depends on the facts of the DUI case and the number of drunk driving convictions in California the individual has had during a 10-year period.
Both the California DUI criminal court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can order a DUI offender to attend alcohol education classes. California drivers whose licenses were suspended and who wish to get a restricted driver's license must typically either enroll in or complete California alcohol and drug program courses to obtain one.
Call (415) 552-6000
Our San Francisco law office provides free consultations.
Attorneys for the firm represent clients accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or driving with a blood alcohol level at or above the legal limit in San Francisco, San Mateo, Marin, Alameda, Santa Clara, Contra Costa, Sonoma and Napa counties.
Feel Free to Contact Our Office Today!
Alcohol education requirements can sometimes be reduced or avoided through a plea bargain - a negotiated settlement with a prosecutor that allows an accused drunk driver to plead guilty to a lesser charge. A skilled California drunk driving defense attorney will evaluate each case to determine whether a plea bargain is a likely or favorable outcome.
The duration of an alcohol education program depends on the number of prior DUI convictions a driver has within a 10-year period. Multiple driving under the influence convictions within the 10-year period in California carry harsher penalties, but if a second DUI arrest occurs more than 10 years after a first DUI offense, it is treated as a first-time drunk driving offense.
California drivers convicted of a first-time DUI must attend a 36-hour alcohol education program. The classes are typically held in three-hour sessions every week for 12 weeks. It may be possible to get a restricted California driver's license to allow for driving to and from the program.
Second-time DUI offenders typically must attend weekly sessions, gradually changing to every other week. Finally, there is a 30-month alcohol and druds education program for multiple DUI offenders.
Alcohol education programs in California are mandatory for convicted drunk drivers, but the requirement can sometimes be reduced or eliminated with skilled negotiation. A California criminal defense lawyer experienced in defending DUI cases can advise about alcohol education requirements in each individual driving under the influence case.
|Home Bay Area DUI DMV Hearing DUI Investigation About Our Firm Contact Us|
|© The Law Office of Robert Tayac :: All Rights Reserved :: Toll-Free Phone: (800) 901-1888
600 Montgomery Street, Suite 210 :: San Francisco, California 94111